

July 22, 2024

JUSTICE LISA HOLDER WHITE ANNOUNCES FORMATION OF SCREENING COMMITTEE TO FILL 11th CIRCUIT RESIDENT JUDGE VACANCY – WOODFORD COUNTY Public invited to submit comments on applicants.

Justice Lisa Holder White of the Supreme Court of Illinois has announced the formation of a judicial screening committee for the Eleventh Judicial Circuit – Woodford County.

The screening committee was formed for the purpose of assessing the qualifications of those who have applied for appointment to the office of Resident Circuit Judge for Woodford County in the Eleventh Judicial Circuit. The retirement of Judge Charles Feeney, III, effective July 31, 2024, created the vacancy. Under the Illinois constitution, the vacancy will be filled by Supreme Court appointment.

After the committee has received public input, gathered information, and interviewed each of the applicants, it will report its findings to the Supreme Court of Illinois. The person appointed will serve until the general election to be held in November 2026.

The screening committee consists of non-lawyers and lawyers who reside in the Eleventh Judicial Circuit. The non-lawyer members of the committee are Dr. Jamel Wright, Annette Wilkey, and Kristi Stone. The lawyer members of the committee are Judge Stephen Pacey (ret.), Judge John Huschen (ret.), Attorney Daniel Harrod, and Attorney Justin Stoller.

Kristi Stone will serve as chairperson of the committee.

Applicants being considered for appointment to the judgeship are Joseph William Foley, Gregory Michael Minger, Michael Lee Stroh, and Hugh F. Toner III.

Members of the public are invited to submit written comments concerning the applicants by U.S. mail to: Eleventh Judicial Screening Committee, McLean County Courthouse, 104 W. Front Street, Room 507, Bloomington, IL 61701 or by email to <u>William.scanlon@mcleancountyil.gov</u>. Comments must be in writing and received no later than 5:00 p.m. on August 5, 2024. Anonymous letters will not be accepted. All comments will be held in the strictest confidence by the committee and the court.

(FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT: James Brunner, Public Information Officer of the Illinois Supreme Court at 217.208.3354 or jbrunner@illinoiscourts.gov.)